Book Review 📚

Books to read during Quarantine

As we enter the fifth week of MCo, I hope you are safe and sound at home and still sane too. I know this isolation can get a little overwhelming. I have written an article on how to cope this isolation in various ways. Read blog post.

One of the best ways to spend this MCO is by reading a good book. A book that might inspire you or be informative. Either way, books have been my greater companion throughout this isolation. These books are, in my opinion, easily read, not too thick and can be reread too. Typically read on silent days, away from chaos in the comfort of a ‘me’ time.

Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

TWM is a memoir by Mitch Albom about the lessons and inspirations he got from his visits to his former sociology professor, Morrie Schwartz. Schwartz was suffering from ALS and was during his finals day where he shared some beautiful moments with Morrie, which later fruited to this book. His tombstone reads, ‘A teacher until the end’. Mitch Albom is well known for his tear jerker books. This book is such a keeper.

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

I read The Alchemist during my last year of teenage, drowning in depression and it did help me. This is the magical story of Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy who yearns to travel in search of a worldly treasure as extravagant as any ever found. From his home in Spain he journeys to the markets of Tangiers and across the Egyptian desert to a fateful encounter with the alchemist.

Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki

There is always a need for adequate financial knowledge. The MCO period right now challenges everyone psychologically, physically and FINANCIALLY. This book explodes the myth that you need to earn a high income to be rich and explains the difference between working for money and having your money work for you. Basically how profitability and assets work. I read this book when I was just 19 and since then it has changed my money perspective.

The Subtle of not giving  F*ck by Mark Manson

Sometimes, someone need to cut through the craps and just ask us to shut the fish up and work. Mark talks how to stop trying to be “positive” all the time so that we can truly become better, happier people. There are only so many things we can give a f**k about so we need to figure out which ones really matter, Manson makes clear. I have reviewed this book here.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Little Women will always remain one of my favourite classics. The story about five sisters, the March sisters. My favourite is Jo. It explores such timeless themes as love and death, war and peace, the conflict between personal ambition and family responsibilities, and the clash of cultures between Europe and America. If you think you can’t do classics because it can get too grammarly, make you flip the dictionary uncountable times and it can get boring- nah you’ll be wrong. Gahh, please read it already!

Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

Sometimes I do feel like leaving everything behind and just book a trip to some island and ahhh how nice would it be, right? But man, we have bills to pay and that’s not as easy as it seems to be. After a midlife crisis, Elizabeth goes on a happy trip to Italy where she eats her heart out and then to India on a quest for spiritualism and finally to Bali, Indonesia for love and tranquility. Reading this book itself gives such peace and satisfaction of going on a soul searching journey.

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

This book, OMG! I just read this and was speechless on how it kept me gripped to the lines. I love thrillers that keep me hooked on to the pages, burning suspense and prove my guesses wrong. This was it. The silent patient is a psychological thriller Thought I sort of got the hints right but not entirely. If you love indulging on a good, worthy thriller then this is it. I do not wish to talk more on this and be a spoiler. But yes, a guaranteed heads up.

Book of Humour by Ruskin Bond

His witty, light-hearted and pleasing writing made me love his books more. Bond has no age-bound audiences and small to old will love his books. And this was my first book by Bond and I am already looking forward to reading more of his books.

Reading is essential for those who seek to rise above the ordinary. – Jim Rohn

Happy reading! Stay safe and stay home.

1 thought on “Books to read during Quarantine”

  1. Hi..!!
    I’m naresh from hyderabad don’t have
    habbit of reading books. I gone through ur
    instagram n dis ‘Seethascribbles’ very
    interesting. Can you prefer for me a book to
    read as beginner.
    Regards
    NK

    Like

Leave a comment